It’s only since I’ve been so open about my fertility journey that I realise how different we all are. By we I’m really referring to us ladies as I haven’t got a clue what’s going on in Men’s heads most of the time.

I go to a fertility support group every week and there I meet some lovely ladies who are having most of the same feelings I have. We have all had our issues with fertility but we have all got different paths to take to reach our goal. The one thing we all have in common is our burning desire to become mothers. I really don’t know what I would have done without this support group. There were times when I didn’t think I would have the strength to carry on. I would be a complete wreck and the most horrid thoughts would go through my head. They talked me through it. The group leader taught me techniques to help me control and express my emotions. And it was at this group that I was given the information about Greece.

So basically I think of those people as the same as me. The other type are the ones that have never wanted kids or haven’t had them but aren’t obsessed enough to want to know why they haven’t had them. I know a few people like this and we have a mutual understanding of the fact that we will never understand each other in that part of our lives. They do try and understand that I am driven by that need but in the back of my mind I always wonder if they ever can.

There’s also some women that tried desperately to have a child and by hook or by crook they have been successful. Sometimes I think they can’t understand what I’m feeling because they have their miracle child. They must have forgotten what this feels like. Then I remember what someone in our group said once. “Just because they have reached their goal, it doesn’t mean their struggle was any less real” and from that night on I have chosen to think of those women as an inspiration. My beacon on the horizon that proves that dreams can come true.

Lastly there are the women that have not had a struggle. Those that have fallen “accidentally” or when they decided to have a family. Could they ever put themselves in my shoes and know the pain I am suffering? Sometimes they try and I’m not sure if that makes me feel worse or not. I do however always try to take it in the spirit it is given. They are trying to empathise and I am grateful that they care enough to try.

Although no one can really understand another’s pain. It’s always personal to them and is based on their history, feelings, emotions and worst of all HORMONES!

